<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Food and Drug Administration | Interactive News</title>
	<atom:link href="https://111things.com/tag/food-and-drug-administration/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>https://111things.com</link>
	<description>Ask follow up questions &#38; get instant answers and insights.</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 08 Aug 2026 18:18:35 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-US</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>
	hourly	</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>
	1	</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>https://wordpress.org/?v=7.1</generator>

<image>
	<url>https://i0.wp.com/111things.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/111things-apple-touch-icon-180-1.png?fit=32%2C32&#038;ssl=1</url>
	<title>Food and Drug Administration | Interactive News</title>
	<link>https://111things.com</link>
	<width>32</width>
	<height>32</height>
</image> 
<site xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">126483067</site>        <div class="get111-archive-chat" data-get111-context="tag" data-get111-bot="default" data-get111-autosend="1" data-get111-term="food-and-drug-administration" data-get111-term-name="Food and Drug Administration">
            <div class="get111-archive-chatbot">
                <div class='mwai-chatbot-container' data-params='{&quot;customId&quot;:&quot;get111-archive-tag-default&quot;,&quot;aiName&quot;:&quot;The 111: &quot;,&quot;userName&quot;:&quot;User:&quot;,&quot;guestName&quot;:&quot;Guest:&quot;,&quot;textSend&quot;:&quot;Send&quot;,&quot;textClear&quot;:&quot;Clear&quot;,&quot;imageUpload&quot;:false,&quot;fileUpload&quot;:false,&quot;multiUpload&quot;:false,&quot;maxUploads&quot;:1,&quot;fileUploads&quot;:0,&quot;mode&quot;:&quot;chat&quot;,&quot;textInputPlaceholder&quot;:&quot;Ask me anything&quot;,&quot;textInputMaxLength&quot;:12000,&quot;textCompliance&quot;:&quot; &quot;,&quot;startSentence&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;localMemory&quot;:true,&quot;themeId&quot;:&quot;foundation&quot;,&quot;window&quot;:false,&quot;icon&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;iconText&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;iconTextDelay&quot;:1,&quot;iconAlt&quot;:&quot;AI Engine Chatbot&quot;,&quot;iconPosition&quot;:&quot;bottom-right&quot;,&quot;centerOpen&quot;:false,&quot;width&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;openDelay&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;iconBubble&quot;:false,&quot;windowAnimation&quot;:&quot;zoom&quot;,&quot;fullscreen&quot;:false,&quot;copyButton&quot;:false,&quot;pdfButton&quot;:false,&quot;headerSubtitle&quot;:&quot;Discuss with&quot;,&quot;containerType&quot;:&quot;standard&quot;,&quot;headerType&quot;:&quot;standard&quot;,&quot;messagesType&quot;:&quot;standard&quot;,&quot;inputType&quot;:&quot;standard&quot;,&quot;footerType&quot;:&quot;standard&quot;}' data-system='{&quot;botId&quot;:null,&quot;customId&quot;:&quot;get111-archive-tag-default&quot;,&quot;userData&quot;:null,&quot;sessionId&quot;:null,&quot;restNonce&quot;:null,&quot;contextId&quot;:null,&quot;pluginUrl&quot;:&quot;https:\/\/111things.com\/wp-content\/plugins\/ai-engine-pro&quot;,&quot;restUrl&quot;:&quot;https:\/\/111things.com\/wp-json&quot;,&quot;stream&quot;:true,&quot;debugMode&quot;:true,&quot;eventLogs&quot;:false,&quot;speech_recognition&quot;:false,&quot;speech_synthesis&quot;:false,&quot;typewriter&quot;:false,&quot;crossSite&quot;:false,&quot;actions&quot;:[],&quot;blocks&quot;:[],&quot;shortcuts&quot;:[]}' data-theme='{&quot;type&quot;:&quot;internal&quot;,&quot;name&quot;:&quot;Foundation&quot;,&quot;themeId&quot;:&quot;foundation&quot;,&quot;settings&quot;:[],&quot;style&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;cssUrl&quot;:&quot;https:\/\/111things.com\/wp-content\/plugins\/ai-engine-pro\/themes\/foundation.css&quot;}'></div>            </div>

            <div class="get111-quicklinks" aria-label="Quick questions about Food and Drug Administration">
                                                        <button type="button" class="get111-quicklink" data-label="Local Snapshot" data-ask="Give me a quick local snapshot of Food and Drug Administration: what it&#039;s known for, neighborhoods, and vibe.">
                        Local Snapshot                    </button>
                                                        <button type="button" class="get111-quicklink" data-label="Housing Snapshot" data-ask="Give me a housing snapshot for Food and Drug Administration: typical rent, home prices, and neighborhood differences.">
                        Housing Snapshot                    </button>
                                                        <button type="button" class="get111-quicklink" data-label="Education &amp; Income" data-ask="Summarize education levels, incomes, and major employers in Food and Drug Administration.">
                        Education &amp; Income                    </button>
                                                        <button type="button" class="get111-quicklink" data-label="Economy &amp; Work" data-ask="Give me an economy breakdown for Food and Drug Administration: top industries, major employers, and job trends.">
                        Economy &amp; Work                    </button>
                                                        <button type="button" class="get111-quicklink" data-label="Growth &amp; Pulse" data-ask="What&#039;s the growth &amp; momentum story in Food and Drug Administration? New development, in-/out-migration, business growth, and what&#039;s changing.">
                        Growth &amp; Pulse                    </button>
                                                        <button type="button" class="get111-quicklink" data-label="Health &amp; Lifestyle" data-ask="Summarize health, lifestyle, and what locals do for fun in Food and Drug Administration.">
                        Health &amp; Lifestyle                    </button>
                                                        <button type="button" class="get111-quicklink" data-label="Climate &amp; Risk" data-ask="Summarize climate patterns and practical risks in Food and Drug Administration (storms, heat, flooding, etc.).">
                        Climate &amp; Risk                    </button>
                                                        <button type="button" class="get111-quicklink" data-label="Services Mix" data-ask="List common local services people look for in Food and Drug Administration (insurance, finance, legal, home services, etc.).">
                        Services Mix                    </button>
                            </div>
        </div>
        	<item>
		<title>CDC links multistate listeria outbreak to recalled soft ricotta and requesón cheese</title>
		<link>https://111things.com/national/cdc-links-multistate-listeria-outbreak-to-recalled-soft-ricotta-and-requeson-cheese/</link>
					<comments>https://111things.com/national/cdc-links-multistate-listeria-outbreak-to-recalled-soft-ricotta-and-requeson-cheese/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Brian Bateman]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 08 Aug 2026 17:38:02 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Health]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[National]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Centers for Disease Control and Prevention]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Clover Hill Dairy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food and Drug Administration]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food Recalls]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food Safety]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Listeria]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[United States]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://111things.com/local-headlines/cdc-links-multistate-listeria-outbreak-to-recalled-soft-ricotta-and-requeson-cheese/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Eight people in Maryland, New York and Virginia were sickened in a listeria outbreak investigation linked to recalled Clover Hill Dairy cheeses. Seven were hospitalized and one died.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention warned consumers not to eat recalled requesón and soft ricotta cheese made by Clover Hill Dairy after eight people in Maryland, New York and Virginia became sick in a multistate listeria outbreak investigation.</p>
<p>Seven of the patients were hospitalized, and one person in Maryland died, according to the CDC warning dated June 5, 2026. Maryland also suspended Clover Hill Dairy’s operating license as federal and state officials continued examining the products and the illnesses.</p>
<p>The warning identifies the recalled cheeses as linked to the outbreak investigation. It does not establish that the cheese caused every illness as a final epidemiologic conclusion, and the investigation had not been described as closed in the approved information.</p>
<h2>What officials have confirmed</h2>
<p>The illnesses involve three states: Maryland, New York and Virginia. The combination of eight identified illnesses, seven hospitalizations and one death makes the recall a significant food-safety concern even though the number of confirmed patients remains limited.</p>
<p>The products at issue are recalled Clover Hill Dairy requesón and soft ricotta cheese. Requesón is a soft cheese, but the CDC warning is tied to the recalled products identified in the investigation. The available information does not support a conclusion that all soft cheeses are contaminated.</p>
<p>Maryland’s suspension of the dairy’s operating license was an action taken while the investigation continued. The packet does not describe the duration of the suspension or provide additional details about the state’s action.</p>
<p>In an investigation update dated June 4, the CDC said CDC, FDA and state officials were collecting epidemiologic, laboratory and traceback data. Those efforts examine patient information, laboratory evidence and the path products took from production toward consumers.</p>
<h2>What consumers should do</h2>
<p>The CDC’s instruction is direct: consumers should not eat the recalled Clover Hill Dairy requesón or soft ricotta cheese. Consumers who have the recalled products should discard or return them, following the agency’s investigation guidance.</p>
<p>The warning has potential significance beyond the three states where patients were identified because recalled cheese may have been distributed through retail channels. The approved information does not provide the full distribution footprint, specific package sizes, lot codes, retailers or other identifiers needed to determine whether a particular package is affected.</p>
<p>For that reason, consumers should rely on current official recall and public-health notices rather than assume that the issue is resolved. The FDA maintains a national index of food and dietary-supplement safety alerts, including recalls, public-health alerts and consumer advisories.</p>
<h2>Who faces greater risk</h2>
<p>Listeria infection presents elevated risks for pregnant people, older adults and people with weakened immune systems, according to the CDC warning. Those groups should take the recall guidance particularly seriously and avoid recalled products.</p>
<p>The available information does not provide a broader product list or say that additional cheeses were ultimately added to the recall. It also does not provide a final epidemiologic finding tying every illness to the recalled cheese.</p>
<h2>What happens next</h2>
<p>CDC, FDA and state investigators were continuing to compare epidemiologic and laboratory information with traceback data. They were also investigating whether additional cheeses or other products were linked to the outbreak.</p>
<p>No completion deadline was provided. The approved information likewise does not include a newer outbreak-specific update confirming that the investigation has ended or clarifying whether the product list changed.</p>
<p>Until a later official notice provides that information, consumers should check current CDC and FDA alerts, avoid the recalled Clover Hill Dairy cheeses and discard or return products covered by the recall. The investigation’s next public significance will depend on whether officials identify additional linked products or issue a final update.</p>
<p><!-- esn-ng-sources:start --></p>
<section class="esn-ng-source-section">
<h2>Sources</h2>
<ul class="esn-ng-sources">
<li><a href="https://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2026/cdc-warns-of-listeria-outbreak-linked-to-requeson-soft-ricotta-cheese.html">CDC warns of Listeria outbreak linked to requesón/soft ricotta cheese</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention</span></li>
<li><a href="https://www.cdc.gov/listeria/outbreaks/soft-cheese-06-26/investigation.html">Investigation Update: Listeria Outbreak, June 2026</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention</span></li>
<li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/food/recalls-outbreaks-emergencies/alerts-advisories-safety-information">Alerts, Advisories &amp; Safety Information</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Food and Drug Administration</span></li>
</ul>
</section>
<p><!-- esn-ng-sources:end --></p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
					<wfw:commentRss>https://111things.com/national/cdc-links-multistate-listeria-outbreak-to-recalled-soft-ricotta-and-requeson-cheese/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
			<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">944039</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>FDA Posts Nationwide Recall of All Nara Organics Powdered Infant Formula Lots</title>
		<link>https://111things.com/national/fda-posts-nationwide-recall-of-all-nara-organics-powdered-infant-formula-lots/</link>
					<comments>https://111things.com/national/fda-posts-nationwide-recall-of-all-nara-organics-powdered-infant-formula-lots/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Brian Bateman]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 08 Aug 2026 10:02:06 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Health]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[National]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food and Drug Administration]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Infant Formula]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Nara Organics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[product recall]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Target]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[United States]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://111things.com/local-headlines/fda-posts-nationwide-recall-of-all-nara-organics-powdered-infant-formula-lots/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[The FDA says Nara Organics recalled all lots of its powdered infant formula because of a possible health risk. The product was distributed nationwide through Target stores, Target.com and Nara.com.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>The Food and Drug Administration has posted a nationwide recall of all lots of Nara Organics powdered infant formula because of a possible health risk, putting caregivers, retailers and clinicians on notice that products distributed across the United States may need to be identified and replaced.</p>

<p>The FDA posted the company’s recall announcement on July 9, 2026, as a public-service safety notice. The recalled formula was distributed nationally through Target stores, Target.com and Nara.com.</p>

<h2>What the recall covers</h2>

<p>The recall covers all lots of Nara Organics powdered infant formula. The stated distribution period ran from July 2025 through June 2026, meaning the affected products may have been available through both retail stores and online purchasing channels over that period.</p>

<p>The FDA’s notice identifies Target and Nara.com as distribution channels. It does not say that all infant formula sold by Target was recalled. The action applies to the Nara Organics powdered infant formula identified in the announcement.</p>

<p>Because the recall is nationwide, the issue is not limited to a particular state or store location. Families who obtained the product through Target stores, Target.com or Nara.com may need to determine whether they have recalled formula and arrange a safe alternative. Retailers and clinicians may also need to help identify affected products and support alternative nutrition arrangements.</p>

<h2>What is not yet specified</h2>

<p>The available FDA record describes the reason for the action as a possible health risk, but it does not specify the suspected contaminant or explain the precise illness risk. It also does not provide, in the supplied record, lot numbers or details about reported illnesses.</p>

<p>The record does not establish whether every package size was included or whether the recall affected only particular formulations. Those details matter to caregivers trying to determine whether a product in their home is covered, but they are not provided in the approved information available for this report.</p>

<p>The recall should therefore not be described as a confirmed contamination finding. The FDA record supplied for this report supports the existence and scope of the recall and the company’s stated reason—a possible health risk—but does not establish contamination, illnesses or injuries.</p>

<h2>Why the notice matters</h2>

<p>Infant formula is a critical nutrition product. A nationwide recall can create an immediate identification and access problem for families who depend on formula, particularly when the available notice does not include all of the product-level details needed to distinguish affected items.</p>

<p>The practical impact extends beyond consumers. Retailers may need to identify products connected to the recall, while clinicians and caregivers may need to coordinate safe alternatives. The FDA’s public posting makes the announcement available nationally and places the recall within the agency’s broader system for food, drug and product safety information.</p>

<p>The FDA says its safety-information database distinguishes recalls, public-health alerts and other safety information. The agency also explains that company recall announcements are posted as a public service. In this case, the posted notice records a company recall rather than a separate finding in the supplied material that contamination or illness has been confirmed.</p>

<h2>What happens next</h2>

<p>The known next step is the public distribution of the recall announcement through the FDA’s safety-information system. The supplied record does not provide a consumer response deadline, a replacement deadline, additional company instructions, a suspected contaminant, lot numbers or a separate report of illnesses.</p>

<p>Until those details are available in the approved record, the central verified facts remain the scope of the action—all lots of Nara Organics powdered infant formula—the possible health-risk rationale, and the national distribution through Target stores, Target.com and Nara.com during the July 2025-to-June 2026 period.</p>


<!-- esn-ng-sources:start -->
<section class="esn-ng-source-section"><h2>Sources</h2><ul class="esn-ng-sources"><li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/nara-organics-recalls-all-lots-nara-infant-formula-because-possible-health-risk?permalink=A2536D05343A8320178C3D4696236381ED1BC45DFC32A046BC9F0366DBE49345">Nara Organics Recalls All Lots of Nara Infant Formula Because of Possible Health Risk</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Food and Drug Administration</span></li><li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/food/recalls-outbreaks-emergencies/alerts-advisories-safety-information">Alerts, Advisories &amp; Safety Information</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Food and Drug Administration</span></li></ul></section>
<!-- esn-ng-sources:end -->
]]></content:encoded>
					
					<wfw:commentRss>https://111things.com/national/fda-posts-nationwide-recall-of-all-nara-organics-powdered-infant-formula-lots/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
			<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">943314</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>FDA posts nationwide recall of cyclophosphamide injections after steel particles found</title>
		<link>https://111things.com/national/fda-posts-nationwide-recall-of-cyclophosphamide-injections-after-steel-particles-found/</link>
					<comments>https://111things.com/national/fda-posts-nationwide-recall-of-cyclophosphamide-injections-after-steel-particles-found/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Brian Bateman]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 06 Aug 2026 22:27:17 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Health]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[National]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[chemotherapy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cyclophosphamide]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[drug recall]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food and Drug Administration]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Patient Safety]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Sunny Pharmtech]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[United States]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://111things.com/local-headlines/fda-posts-nationwide-recall-of-cyclophosphamide-injections-after-steel-particles-found/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[The FDA published a nationwide, user-level recall of three Sunny Pharmtech cyclophosphamide lots after steel particulate matter was identified in 1-gram and 2-gram vials.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>The Food and Drug Administration published a nationwide recall of three lots of Sunny Pharmtech Inc. cyclophosphamide for injection on July 24, 2026, after steel particulate matter was identified in the product.</p>

<p>The recall covers 1-gram-per-vial and 2-gram-per-vial products and is being conducted to the user level. The action affects the facilities and professionals that receive, store or administer the drug, including pharmacies, hospitals and other health-care providers.</p>

<p>Cyclophosphamide is an injectable chemotherapy drug. The recall therefore creates an immediate product-control task for providers that use the medicine: They must determine whether affected product is in their inventories and follow the FDA-directed process for removing it from their operations.</p>

<h2>What the recall requires</h2>

<p>Under the recall strategy, pharmacies, hospitals and other providers were instructed to return affected product, reconcile their inventories and destroy the recalled product. Inventory reconciliation is intended to account for affected units and help facilities confirm that recalled product has been handled through the required process.</p>

<p>The recall notice identifies three lots and two vial strengths, but the approved FDA material does not state how many vials were distributed. It also does not identify the number of facilities that may have received the product or the number of patients who may have encountered it.</p>

<p>The recall was coordinated with Long Grove Pharmaceuticals and Cardinal Health. The FDA source identifies those companies as involved in notification and distribution coordination for the action.</p>

<h2>What patients should know</h2>

<p>The FDA directs patients who suspect a problem to contact a physician or other health-care provider. Patients should not stop prescribed treatment without medical advice.</p>

<p>That guidance is particularly important because the recalled product is an injectable chemotherapy drug, and treatment decisions may depend on a patient’s individual medical circumstances. The recall notice establishes instructions for handling the product; it does not direct patients to discontinue chemotherapy on their own.</p>

<p>The available FDA material does not report confirmed injuries linked to the steel particulate matter. The presence of a recall, by itself, should not be treated as a finding that a particular patient was harmed.</p>

<h2>What is known about the action</h2>

<p>Sunny Pharmtech announced the recall, and the FDA published the notice on July 24, 2026. The agency’s drug-recall listing also includes the cyclophosphamide action and confirms the stated reason: steel particulate matter identified in the product.</p>

<p>The recall is nationwide in the United States. Its user-level designation means the response is directed beyond a manufacturer or distributor alone and reaches the providers responsible for receiving and using the affected medicine.</p>

<p>The approved notice does not provide the source of the steel particles. It also does not provide a confirmed injury count, a patient count, a facility count or a total number of vials involved. Those figures cannot be inferred from the recall announcement.</p>

<h2>What happens next</h2>

<p>The next known step is implementation by providers. Facilities that handle cyclophosphamide must identify any affected product, coordinate its return, reconcile their records and destroy recalled inventory under the recall process.</p>

<p>Providers may also need to coordinate treatment-related decisions for patients whose care involves the affected product, including whether replacement treatment is needed. The approved material supports that practical consideration but does not announce a specific replacement-drug plan, supply update or patient deadline.</p>

<p>For patients, the FDA’s stated next step is to contact a physician or other health-care provider about any suspected problem. Patients should continue to rely on medical advice rather than stopping prescribed treatment independently. The notice does not announce a separate deadline for patients and does not report confirmed injuries associated with the recalled cyclophosphamide.</p>


<!-- esn-ng-sources:start -->
<section class="esn-ng-source-section"><h2>Sources</h2><ul class="esn-ng-sources"><li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/sunny-pharmtech-inc-issues-voluntary-nationwide-recall-cyclophosphamide-injection-usp-user-level-due">Sunny Pharmtech Issues Voluntary Nationwide Recall of Cyclophosphamide for Injection</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, U.S. Food and Drug Administration</span></li><li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-safety-and-availability/drug-recalls">Drug Recalls</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, U.S. Food and Drug Administration</span></li></ul></section>
<!-- esn-ng-sources:end -->
]]></content:encoded>
					
					<wfw:commentRss>https://111things.com/national/fda-posts-nationwide-recall-of-cyclophosphamide-injections-after-steel-particles-found/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
			<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">942428</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>FDA proposes withdrawing TAVNEOS approval after trial-data and liver-injury findings</title>
		<link>https://111things.com/national/fda-proposes-withdrawing-tavneos-approval-after-trial-data-and-liver-injury-findings/</link>
					<comments>https://111things.com/national/fda-proposes-withdrawing-tavneos-approval-after-trial-data-and-liver-injury-findings/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Brian Bateman]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 06 Aug 2026 16:44:20 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Health]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[National]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Amgen]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ANCA-associated vasculitis]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[clinical trials]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Drug Safety]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food and Drug Administration]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[TAVNEOS]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[United States]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://111things.com/?p=941920</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[The FDA proposed withdrawing U.S. approval of TAVNEOS, a treatment for adults with severe ANCA-associated vasculitis, after identifying manipulated pivotal-trial results, undisclosed analyses and serious liver injuries.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>The Food and Drug Administration has proposed withdrawing U.S. approval of TAVNEOS, a drug used with glucocorticoids and other standard treatments for adults with severe active ANCA-associated vasculitis, after identifying problems with pivotal clinical-trial results and serious drug-induced liver injuries.</p>

<p>The proposal, issued April 27, 2026, is not a final withdrawal order. TAVNEOS remains on the market unless the applicant removes it or the FDA commissioner orders that its approval be withdrawn.</p>

<p>The action places a treatment for a rare but serious disease at the center of questions about clinical-trial integrity, drug-safety monitoring and how patients and clinicians should evaluate treatment options while the agency’s process continues.</p>

<h2>What the FDA found</h2>

<p>According to the FDA, newly available information showed that unblinded personnel involved in the pivotal study manipulated study results. The agency also said the applicant did not disclose the original analysis to the FDA.</p>

<p>The FDA’s action includes a notice of opportunity for a hearing addressed to ChemoCentryx, which is an Amgen subsidiary. The hearing notice gives the applicant a chance to respond before the agency makes a final decision on the marketing authorization.</p>

<p>The agency separately issued a safety communication on March 31, 2026, identifying serious drug-induced liver injuries associated with TAVNEOS. The cases included vanishing bile duct syndrome and fatal outcomes.</p>

<p>The FDA’s summary does not provide a total number of affected patients or a confirmed total for the liver-injury cases. That means the proposal establishes the agency’s stated findings and safety concerns but does not, from the information available in the approved summary, quantify the full scope of the reported injuries.</p>

<h2>What happens to the drug now</h2>

<p>TAVNEOS was approved on Oct. 7, 2021. Its approved use was alongside glucocorticoids and other standard treatments for adults with severe active ANCA-associated vasculitis.</p>

<p>For now, the approval remains in force. The FDA has advised clinicians to discuss TAVNEOS and available alternatives with patients while the final marketing-status decision is pending. The agency has not directed patients, through the information summarized here, to stop or continue treatment without consulting a clinician.</p>

<p>If ChemoCentryx requests a hearing, the FDA commissioner will first decide whether to hold one. The commissioner would then decide whether the approval should be withdrawn. The April 27 proposal therefore begins a regulatory process rather than ending TAVNEOS’s U.S. availability immediately.</p>

<h2>Why the proposal matters</h2>

<p>The decision affects more than the status of one medicine. TAVNEOS was approved for use in a severe form of ANCA-associated vasculitis, making the FDA’s review relevant to patients who may be weighing the drug against alternatives and to clinicians responsible for discussing those choices.</p>

<p>It also tests the safeguards that support drug approval after a medicine reaches the market. The FDA’s stated concerns involve both the reliability of pivotal-study results and the disclosure of underlying analyses. Its liver-injury findings add a post-market safety dimension, including reports of vanishing bile duct syndrome and fatal outcomes.</p>

<p>The next known step is procedural: ChemoCentryx may request a hearing under the FDA notice, after which the commissioner would determine whether a hearing occurs and whether approval should ultimately be withdrawn. Until a final action or voluntary removal, TAVNEOS remains available in the United States.</p>


<!-- esn-ng-sources:start -->
<section class="esn-ng-source-section"><h2>Sources</h2><ul class="esn-ng-sources"><li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-alerts-and-statements/cder-proposes-withdraw-approval-tavneos">CDER proposes to withdraw approval of TAVNEOS</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Food and Drug Administration</span></li><li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-safety-and-availability/drug-safety-communications">Drug Safety Communications</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Food and Drug Administration</span></li></ul></section>
<!-- esn-ng-sources:end -->
]]></content:encoded>
					
					<wfw:commentRss>https://111things.com/national/fda-proposes-withdrawing-tavneos-approval-after-trial-data-and-liver-injury-findings/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
			<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">941920</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>FDA Reports 131 Salmonella Illnesses in 38 States Linked to Moringa Powder Investigation</title>
		<link>https://111things.com/national/fda-reports-131-salmonella-illnesses-in-38-states-linked-to-moringa-powder-investigation/</link>
					<comments>https://111things.com/national/fda-reports-131-salmonella-illnesses-in-38-states-linked-to-moringa-powder-investigation/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Brian Bateman]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 06 Aug 2026 16:27:10 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Health]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[National]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Dietary supplements]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food and Drug Administration]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Food Safety]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Moringa leaf powder]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Salmonella]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[United States]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://111things.com/local-headlines/fda-reports-131-salmonella-illnesses-in-38-states-linked-to-moringa-powder-investigation/</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[The FDA’s July 22 update reported 131 illnesses in 38 states in an ongoing Salmonella investigation involving moringa leaf powder and dietary supplements containing the ingredient.]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[
<p>The Food and Drug Administration reported July 22 that 131 people in 38 states had been infected with one of the Salmonella strains under investigation in an outbreak involving moringa leaf powder and dietary supplements containing the ingredient.</p>

<p>The illnesses were reported in an FDA investigation that began in January 2026. The agency said reported illness-onset dates range from Aug. 22, 2025, through June 14, 2026, meaning the update covers cases identified over nearly 10 months rather than a single wave of illnesses occurring only in July.</p>

<p>The investigation remains active. The FDA said it has increased screening of imported moringa powder from India and continues working with industry and federal partners to protect consumers.</p>

<h2>What the update establishes</h2>

<p>The FDA’s latest count is 131 reported illnesses across 38 states. The cases involve one of the outbreak strains being investigated, according to the agency’s July 22 update.</p>

<p>The investigation focuses on moringa leaf powder and dietary supplements that contain it. Moringa is a plant-based ingredient used in supplement products, but the FDA update does not establish that every product containing moringa is contaminated.</p>

<p>It also does not identify one manufacturer, brand or specific product as responsible for all 131 illnesses. The available information supports an ongoing investigation involving the ingredient and related supplements, not a final finding that all products in that category caused illness.</p>

<h2>Federal response and import screening</h2>

<p>The FDA said it had increased screening of imported moringa powder from India. That is the specific enforcement and monitoring step identified in the update as the agency continues examining the outbreak.</p>

<p>The agency also said it continues working with industry and federal partners. The source does not provide a deadline for completing the investigation or describe a final determination covering every product connected to the reported illnesses.</p>

<p>The federal response matters because the investigation involves a dietary-supplement ingredient that can be distributed across state lines. The reported cases already span 38 states, making the development broader than a single retailer, community or state health investigation.</p>

<h2>What consumers and retailers should watch</h2>

<p>The cited FDA update does not announce a national recall. It also does not provide a list of every product, brand or lot associated with the investigation. Those distinctions are important: an outbreak investigation is not the same as a finding that all moringa products are unsafe.</p>

<p>The FDA maintains an official safety-information portal where related product alerts, recalls and consumer advisories are posted. A listing on that portal would be a separate agency action; the existence of the portal itself does not mean that a recall has been issued in this investigation.</p>

<p>The update also does not state how many people were hospitalized or whether any deaths occurred. Those figures cannot be inferred from the total of 131 reported illnesses.</p>

<h2>What happens next</h2>

<p>For now, the known next steps are continued FDA investigation, increased screening of imported moringa powder from India, and continued coordination with industry and federal partners.</p>

<p>The illness-onset range may change as the investigation develops, and the agency could issue additional product alerts, recalls or consumer advisories through its safety-information channels. The approved FDA update does not give a completion date, announce such an action, or establish that every illness came from one product.</p>

<p>Until more information is released, the verified picture is limited but significant: 131 illnesses in 38 states are part of an active Salmonella investigation involving moringa leaf powder and supplements containing it, with federal import screening now increased.</p>


<!-- esn-ng-sources:start -->
<section class="esn-ng-source-section"><h2>Sources</h2><ul class="esn-ng-sources"><li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/food/outbreaks-foodborne-illness/outbreak-investigation-salmonella-moringa-leaf-powder-january-2026">Outbreak Investigation of Salmonella: Moringa Leaf Powder</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Food and Drug Administration</span></li><li><a href="https://www.fda.gov/food/recalls-outbreaks-emergencies/alerts-advisories-safety-information">FDA Alerts, Advisories &amp; Safety Information</a><span class="esn-ng-source-organization">, Food and Drug Administration</span></li></ul></section>
<!-- esn-ng-sources:end -->
]]></content:encoded>
					
					<wfw:commentRss>https://111things.com/national/fda-reports-131-salmonella-illnesses-in-38-states-linked-to-moringa-powder-investigation/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
			<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">942187</post-id>	</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
