Roanoke-Chowan Community College gets $1 million grant for Ahoskie allied-health expansion
AHOSKIE, NC — Roanoke-Chowan Community College has received a $1 million Golden LEAF Foundation grant to expand allied-health training and facilities at its Ahoskie campus, the college announced June 6.
The grant will pay for equipment purchases, installation and related professional development tied to a new training facility. The expansion is intended to increase the college’s local capacity to prepare health-care workers and potentially strengthen the workforce pipeline in Hertford County.
What the grant will support
The award is focused on the practical needs of the allied-health expansion. That includes obtaining equipment for training, installing it in the new facility and providing professional development connected to its use.
Roanoke-Chowan Community College said the new training facility will be located on its Ahoskie campus. The college’s announcement also said the project is supported by $15 million in state funding.
That $15 million figure describes state funding supporting the new training facility. The announcement does not specify whether the full amount is already available or has been spent, and it does not provide a total project budget.
Part of a broader state award round
The Golden LEAF award was part of $6 million approved for projects across North Carolina involving job creation, economic investment, workforce preparedness and agriculture.
The college described its funding as tied to a special health-care workforce initiative connected to major capital projects in the state. For Ahoskie, the direct effect is an investment in the college’s ability to provide allied-health training locally rather than relying only on existing facilities or capacity.
That could give people pursuing health-care careers an expanded local training option and help build the pool of workers available to the region. The announcement does not promise a specific number of jobs, local hires, new credentials or additional students.
No construction or enrollment timeline announced
The college announcement did not provide a construction start date or completion date. It also did not state an enrollment target or say how many new credentials the expansion could produce.
As a result, the grant marks a funded expansion effort, not the completion of the facility or the start of classes there. The next milestones for residents and prospective students will depend on the project’s construction, equipment installation and training plans, none of which had a public deadline in the announcement.
Sources
- Roanoke-Chowan Community College Receives $1 Million Golden LEAF Grant for Allied Health Expansion, Roanoke-Chowan Community College
- Town of Ahoskie official website, Town of Ahoskie
Look for updates to this story
Discover more from Interactive News
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.